Canteen
Canteen

I sneaked back to Canggu in Bali last week for 8 days for a small surf trip. I went alone to practice my surfing. Well, I asked everyone I knew and nobody wanted to go with me, so I had to go alone. Sometimes, it is necessary to walk the path alone in order to grow.

It was a challenging week, mentally and physically. I have traveled alone before, but not often. It isn’t easy I must admit. It takes a while to get into the groove of not knowing anyone and being alone most of the time. It took me a few days to settle in. I would have loved to have stayed longer but I had to come home.

I woke up at 6am everyday to go for a 2 hour surf session before the wind picked up. Some days I did a late afternoon session as well but I didn’t want to exhaust myself. I was on holiday after all.

I spent the days checking out the local cafes and restaurants on my bike. I went to a few more but my phone kept running out of battery.

Canggu is a small sleepy surf area in bali. It’s still relatively unspoilt. There is a small expat community here. I guess they flock here for the surf, healthy lifestyle and the yoga and art scene. The restaurants focus on organic and healthy food. The whole place is really chill and laid back. I like the energy of this place, which is why I made a second back to back trip. I doubt it will stay like this for long. The pace of development in Bali is ferocious. Everyone is in real estate here. The tourists keep flocking in.

I will have to enjoy this little corner of quiet Bali while it lasts….

kaki lima
kaki lima
Deus
Deus
Deus gallery
Deus gallery
Deus Skates
Deus Skates
Old Man
Old Man’s
Monsieur Spoon
Monsieur Spoon
House of Beans Bali Airport
House of Beans Bali Airport
Frii Hotel Bali
Frii Hotel Bali
The perfect sunset
The perfect sunset in bali

 

