image
incense. Quote: Patience is the most beautiful prayer.

Today’s sketch of the day in my Daler Rowney art journal is of an Incense and leaf holder that I use to ward the mosquitoes away as I sit and sketch in the garden.

I’ve also been learning about time. Western linear time vs Eastern circular time. The western concept is all about meeting deadlines and controlling time. The eastern concept is about patience. Time cannot be controlled and things will happen when it is meant to be.

As an artist I have to embrace both. I need schedules to move forward and tick my to do list off. It gives some structure and discipline to my life. On the other hand,  I have to have patience to accept that things will not happen until it is ready. I cannot force inspiration nor magic.

Patience is the most beautiful prayer ~ Indian Proverb

