The yellow tang (Zebrasoma flavescens)
The yellow tang (Zebrasoma flavescens)

It’s a brand new sketchbook day! I have moved to a brand called Monologue (made in Malaysia) because I can no longer buy Moleskine sketchbooks in Penang and this was the only decent looking one available.

Today’s sketch of the day in my monologue art journal is of a Yellow Tang. Zebrasoma flavescens

Quote of the day: When you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change ~ Wayne Dyer

I’m starting a series of fish sketches because this was one of my favourite subjects when I used to dive and had to learn to identify all the reed fish. I spend 10 weeks in Tanzania on a marine research project with a NGO called Frontier and that was one of the best experiences I had that has shaped my adult life. That’s another story I may share one day 🙂

Adult fish can grow to 20 centimetres (7.9 in) in length, and 1–2 centimetres (0.39–0.79 in) in thickness. Adult males tend to be larger than females. Yellow tang are bright yellow in color. At night, the yellow coloring fades slightly, and a prominent brownish patch develops in the middle with a horizontal white band. They rapidly resume their bright yellow color during daylight. ~ Wikipidia

